What Do You Want to Do Next?

People often ask me, “What’s the #1 thing you would say about getting started with a new job search?”

My answer is almost always to ask in return, “What do you want to do next in your career?” It’s shocking how few people can answer that simple question. In fact, in my experience, only two in a hundred can tell me without hesitation what they want to do next in their lives.

Now What Way to Go the Way Forward Ahead Concept

They are quick to tell me what they don’t want to do…but few people even let themselves consider what they want. Instead, they focus on what they think they can do or what they believe they can have.

I say, get rid of that limiting thinking!

If you are at a career crossroads, it is time to let yourself dream of possibilities! Don’t let anything keep you from considering what you want. Likewise, don’t think of settling for what you think you can have or worse, what you might deserve.

I encourage my clients to forget about the “how” of what they want for the time being. Don’t worry about how to make it happen even if you want something that sounds outrageous. Becoming a coach to teachers suffering from burnout sounded outrageous to me a few years ago. At the end of a lot of soul searching, however, I decided that was exactly what I wanted to do. Once I got past worrying about “how” I just started doing it, and I am still going strong.

Inspirational and Motivational Typographic Quote Vector Poster Design. All limitations are self imposed. Vector Typographic Background Design

 

Since making that decision, I have helped dozens of teachers examine their possibilities. I encourage them to consider what they want to do instead of teaching. Many of them are still working on making their transition from teaching happen. They are developing a working plan, however, with my help.
 
That’s where the “Jumpstart Your Job Search Program” comes in so handy. It guides you through the job search process starting with how to answer the question, “What do you want to do next?” With my help, you learn how to answer that question. Then you learn how to tackle the moving parts of the job search process with greater ease and confidence.
 

 

Top view of the working place with woman's hands. A laptop, notepad and a cup of coffee are on the table. A job search flowchart is drawn on the table.

So, let me ask you. What do YOU want to do next?
 
If you are ready to explore that question in earnest, then take a look at the Jumpstart Your Job Search Program.” Let’s get you started on what is next for YOU!

 

Leave a comment