What is the #1 Mistake Most Job Seekers Make When Starting a Job Search?

mistake

People who are starting out on a job search often make one major mistake. They start their search without a clear idea of what it is they want to do. I liken it to planning a vacation itinerary with no destination in mind. Sounds a little crazy, right? Yet, think of the last time you went job hunting. Did you decide what you wanted to do first or did you think of all the things you could do first? Because there is a differenceI tell my clients who are starting out on a job search that writing their resume is not the first thing they should do. I know that sounds counter-intuitive, but stick with me for a moment.

I tell my clients who are starting out on a job search that writing their resume is not the first thing they should do. I know that sounds counter-intuitive, but stick with me for a moment.If you were planning a trip to Rome, would it make sense for you to map out a journey to Cairo? Of course not! That sounds ridiculous. Too often, job seekers write their resume and send it to a dozen job postings. They hope that something will land. It’s like the poor guy in the graphic above. Blindfolded, what are the chances he is going to ever hit the bullseye?

If you were planning a trip to Rome, would it make sense for you to map out a journey to Cairo? Of course not! That sounds ridiculous. Too often, job seekers write their resume and send it to a dozen job postings. They hope that something will land. It’s like the poor guy in the graphic above. Blindfolded, what are the chances he is going to ever hit the bullseye?People will say to me, “Kitty, I have been a teacher for 20 years. What other jobs might I be good at? Or, what else might I be qualified to do?”

People will say to me, “Kitty, I have been a teacher for 20 years. What other jobs might I be good at? Or, what else might I be qualified to do?”There are simply too many variables involved for me to give a straight answer to those questions. I need a lot more information first. What about teaching did you enjoy? What did you hate? Why are you ready to leave teaching now? What sorts of activities do you love and would do even if no one paid you? And my favorite, “If I gave you a magic wand and you could have any job you wanted, what would it be?”

There are simply too many variables involved for me to give a straight answer to those questions. I need a lot more information first. What about teaching did you enjoy? What did you hate? Why are you ready to leave teaching now? What sorts of activities do you love and would do even if no one paid you? And my favorite, “If I gave you a magic wand and you could have any job you wanted, what would it be?”

I get all sorts of interesting answers. Here’s the truth: if you want to change jobs, the first order of business is to get crystal clear about what you want to do. Don’t waste energy on what you think you might have to settle for. That is a clear recipe for unhappiness and even despair.

You deserve to work in a job or career that uses your best talents. You deserve to provide service in an area that is meaningful to you. If teaching has lost its luster, it’s not the end of the world. There are many jobs that you can find satisfying. But first, you must take your blindfold off. Get clear about what it is you want to do in your life. Do that first, and then we can start hitting that bullseye.

Do you need help looking for your next career opportunity? Why not try out a 20-minute complimentary Discovery Session? Just click here for my calendar. I would love to chat with you about your possibilities.

Kitty J. Boitnott, Ph.D., NBCT, RScP is a former educator and Past President of the Virginia Education Association. After over three decades teaching and advocating for public education, she retooled and reinvented herself. She became a Certified Life Strategies and Stress Management Coach and a Career Transition & Job Search Coach trained by a nationally known career expert. Kitty specializes in helping teachers who are suffering from teacher burnout. She is the owner and CEO of Boitnott Coaching, LLC and the founder of TeachersinTransition.comTeachersinDistress.Wordpress.com, and

 KittyatCareerMakeover.CoachesConsole.com.

Not sure is you are experiencing teacher burnout? Check yourself with this free checklist. Click here:  https://kittyboitnott.leadpages.co/7-signs-of-teacher-burnout/

Business man in office with burnout syndrome at desk

Leave a comment